IOWA
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial - Based on DOB


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail
Physicians are required to complete 40 hours of Category 1 CME every two-year renewal period. This requirement is prorated for anyone whose license was issued for fewer than two full years.

Any physician who has prescribed opioids once in the previous 12 months must complete two CME Credit hours addressing Chronic Pain Management. A new law passed by the Iowa legislature will require these credit hours are focused on the CDC guidelines for proper opioid prescribing.

Any physician who treats actively-dying patients must complete two hours of Category 1 Credits for End-of-Life Care every five years. The training must be related to End-of-Life Care, not palliative care.

A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children must complete a two-hour DHS core training on child abuse identification and reporting within six months of employment or self-employment and then complete a one hour recertification every three years.

A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults must complete a two-hour DHS core training on dependent-adult abuse identification and reporting within six months of employment or self-employment and then complete a one hour recertification every three years.

All valid mandatory reporter training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for 5 years.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Iowa Code - Medicine and Surgery
Iowa Code – Continuing Education
State Medical Board
Iowa Board of Medicine - Contact Information
Updated March 2020
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact emcallister@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.