MICHIGAN
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Three Years


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail
Each medical doctor is required to complete 150 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the board of which a minimum 75 hours of the required 150 hours must be earned in courses or programs designated as Category 1 programs.

A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of medical ethics, and a minimum of 3 hours of continuing education must be earned in the area of pain and symptom management.

Proof of completion of training to identify victims of human trafficking. This is a one-time training that is separate from continuing education (CE). Licensees renewing in 2017 must complete training by renewal in 2020; renewals for 2018 by 2021, and renewals for 2019 by 2022. Beginning December 6, 2021, completion of the training is a requirement for initial license issuance.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs - Medicine
State Medical Board
Michigan Board of Medicine - Contact Information
Updated March 2020
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact emcallister@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.