PENNSYLVANIA
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial - Renew by December 31 of even-numbered years


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail
Licensees must complete 100 hours of continuing medical education every two years. Of the 100 total required CME, 20 must be earned through continuing medical education activities designated as Category 1.

Two (2) hours of Board-approved continuing education in Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

In order for medical physician and surgeons with prescriptive authority to renew their license or prescriptive authority approval for the next renewal period, they must complete at least two (2) hours of continuing education in Pain Management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. For physicians, this continuing education must be in AMA PRA Category 1 or 2 approved activities.

At least 12 of the 100 hours must be completed in activities related to Patient Safety or Risk Management and may be completed in either Category 1 or 2. Please note, the two credit hours in Child Abuse Recognition/Reporting and the two credit hours in Pain Management cannot be used toward the Patient Safety/Risk Management requirement.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Pennsylvania Board of Medicine - Laws & Regulations
State Medical Board
Pennsylvania State Medical Board - Contact Information
Updated March 2020
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact emcallister@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.