PENNSYLVANIA (DO)
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial – Renew by October 31 of even-numbered years


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail
In order to renew a license, completion of 100 credit hours of continuing medical education in the preceding biennial period, which runs from November 1 of an even year through October 31 of the next even year, will be required for osteopathic physicians.

All prescribers or dispensers must complete at least two hours of continuing education in pain management, the identification of addiction or in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids as a portion of the total continuing education required.

As a condition of biennial renewal, you are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider.

All persons applying for issuance of an initial license are required to complete, as a condition of licensure, 3 hours of training approved by the Department of Human Services (DHS) on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Pennsylvania Board of Osteopathic Medicine Laws & Regulations
State Medical Board
Pennsylvania Board of Osteopathic Medicine - Contact Information
Updated March 2020
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact emcallister@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.