Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:
      Three-year CME cycle

Minimum CMEs:
CME Requirements Detail
Diplomates with time-limited certificates must complete 60 CME credits in the 2019-2021 AOA CME cycle, of which at least 15 CME credits must be AOA Category 1-A. Diplomates with non-time-limited certificates must complete 120 CME credits in the 2019-2021 AOA CME cycle. Diplomates holding multiple AOA surgical certifications must meet all criteria for each specialty certifying board’s OCC processes. However, CME earned will apply to each specialty certifying board. AOA specialty certifying boards will not require diplomates to obtain specialty-specific CME during the 2019-2021 CME cycle.

Diplomates participating in the MOC process an ABMS certifying board may petition to apply their practice performance assessment activities to their OCC Component 4 requirements. However, the specialty certifying board may also require an osteopathic component.
MOC/CC Program Link 
American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery Continuous Certification Overview
Board Contact Information
AOB Ophthalmology and Orthopedic Surgery Contact Information
Updated April 2020
Board certification requirements are subject to change. Please contact or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.