Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:
      Three-year CME cycle

Minimum CMEs:
CME Requirements Detail
To achieve Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of Surgery, a physician must fulfill 60 hours of CME over each three-year period coinciding with the AOA CME cycle. Physicians entering the program mid-cycle will have their credit requirements prorated. Diplomates holding multiple AOA surgical certifications must meet all criteria for each specialty certifying board’s OCC processes. However, CME earned will apply to each specialty certifying board. AOA specialty certifying boards will not require diplomates to obtain specialty-specific CME during the 2019-2021 CME cycle.

Diplomates participating in the MOC process an ABMS certifying board may petition to apply their practice performance assessment activities to their OCC Component 4 requirements. However, the specialty certifying board may also require an osteopathic component.
MOC/CC Program Link 
Osteopathic Continuous Certification Overview
Board Contact Information
American Board of Osteopathic Surgery Contact Information
Updated April 2020
Board certification requirements are subject to change. Please contact or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.