American College of Surgeons
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial – Licenses expire December 31 of even-numbered years

State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail
Licensees are required to earn 50 Category 1 CME every two-year renewal
cycle. For license renewals (unless you do not hold a valid DEA registration),
at least two of the total hours of CME that are required to qualify for renewal
must be specific to pain management and opioid use and addiction. Courses must
be category 1 of AMA-approved education, or Category 1 or 2 of AOA-approved
education. To fully document compliance with the opioid education requirement,
the title/description of the program on your Certificate of Completion should
specifically reference all three areas of the required subject matter: pain
management, opioid use, addiction.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Alaska Medical Statutes and Regulations
State Medical Board
Alaska State Medical Board
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.