American College of Surgeons
MyCME
KENTUCKY
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Annual – License renewals due by March 1


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




All physicians must complete 60 hours of CME every three years, 30 of
which must be certified in AMA Category 1 by an organization accredited by the
ACCME. The current three-year CME Cycle is January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2020.
Physicians authorized to prescribe or dispense controlled substances in Kentucky
must complete 4.5 hours of Board approved Category 1 CME relating to the use of
KASPER, pain management, addiction disorders, or a combination of two or more of
those subjects. Each DEA-licensed prescriber of Buprenorphine-Mono-Product or
Buprenorphine-Combined-with- Naloxone shall complete at least twelve (12) hours
of continuing medical education certified in Category 1 specific to addiction
medicine each three-year renewal cycle. Primary care physicians, who are granted
licensure after July 1, 1996, are required to successfully complete a three (3)
hour domestic violence training course within 3 years of the date of initial
licensure. Pediatricians, radiologists, family practitioners, and emergency
medicine and urgent care physicians must complete a onetime one (1) hour of
training on Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma within 5 years of
licensure.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Kentucky Admin Rules/Regulatory Statues Search
Kentucky Administrative Rules - Continuing Medical Education
State Medical Board
Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.