American College of Surgeons
MyCME
MAINE
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial – Licenses expire based on DOB


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




Each physician licensed to practice in Maine must complete a minimum of 40
Category 1 CME credit hours during each two-year licensing period. The CME
requirement will be prorated for the first licensure period. All licensees need
to complete 3 hours of AMA category 1 CME on opioid prescribing every 2 years.
Three hours of any Category 1 AMA approved program on the prescribing of opioids
will suffice. The CME must be taken since your last renewal in order to be
counted towards this requirement. Buprenorphine Waiver Training as described by
the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA) may be
counted toward meeting the requirement of this law as long as the training is
approved Category 1 Continuing Medical Education by the American Medical
Association Council on Medical Education (AMA).
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine - Rules and Statutes
State Medical Board
Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.