American College of Surgeons
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Annual - Based on DOB

State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail

Each licensed physician must obtain 75 hours of continuing medical
education (CME) category 1 credit every three years as a condition of licensure
renewal. The Board accepts (re)certification or current Maintenance of
Competency issued by ABMS, RCPSC or AOA in lieu of CME. Newly licensed
physicians commence their three-year cycle on their birth month following the
initial date of licensure. Physicians under Emeritus registration and licensees
in full-time residency or fellowship training at a professionally accredited
facility are exempt from the continuing medical education requirement. The Board
of Medical Practice requires that licensees with the authority to prescribe
controlled substances obtain at least two hours of continuing education credit
on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances between
between Jan. 1, 2020 and Dec. 31, 2022, including nonpharmacological and
implantable device alternatives for treatment of pain and ongoing pain
management, as part of the continuing education requirements for licensure
renewal. Continuing education credit on best practices in prescribing opioids
and controlled substances must meet board requirements.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Minnesota Administrative Rules - License Renewal
Minnesota Administrative Rules – Continuing Medical Education
State Medical Board
Minnesota Board of Medical Practice - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.