American College of Surgeons
MyCME
SOUTH CAROLINA
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial – Renew by June 30 of odd-numbered years


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




Physicians are required to complete 40 hours of continuing medical
education every two-year renewal cycle. Thirty of these hours must be in their
specialty; 10 may be non-specialty. Two of the 40 CME must address appropriate
procedures for prescribing and monitoring controlled substances. These two hours
are required every two years regardless of specialty or whether you actually
prescribe controlled substances. All hours must be AMA/AOA Category 1 taken
within the 2-year renewal period.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME - Section 40-47-40
State Statutes and Codes
South Carolina Code of Laws – Physicians (CME, Section 40-47-40/Renewal, Section 40-47-41)
State Medical Board
South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.