American College of Surgeons
MyCME
TEXAS
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




As a prerequisite to registration of a physician’s permit, a physician
must complete 48 hours of continuing medical education every 24 months. At least
24 of the CME must be earned through formal courses designated for Category 1
credits. At least two formal hours must involve the study of Medical Ethics
and/or Professional Responsibility (including, but not limited to: Risk
Management, Domestic Abuse, or Child Abuse). Formal courses must be approved for
Ethics or Professional Responsibility by the accrediting agency. The Texas
Medical Board (TMB) continues working towards rules regarding new opioid
continuing medical education (CME) requirements. All three House Bills require 2
credit hours addressing Prescribing Controlled Substances and Safe Pain
Management every two years. A course on Human Trafficking Prevention is in
development.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Texas Administrative Code - Texas Medical Board
State Medical Board
Texas Medical Board - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.