American College of Surgeons
MyCME
UTAH
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial renewal by January 31 of even-numbered years


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




The Qualified Continuing Professional Educational requirement consists of
40 hours during each two-year cycle, a minimum of 34 of which must be earned
through Category 1 activities. Each controlled substance provider must complete
3.5 credit hours addressing Controlled Substance Prescribing. The 3.5 hours of
the controlled substance prescribing classes shall include educational content
covering the following: • Scope of the controlled substance abuse problem in
Utah and the nation • All elements of the FDA Blueprint for Prescriber Education
• National and Utah-specific resources available to prescribers • Patient record
documentation for controlled substance and opioid prescribing • Office policies,
procedures, and implementation An M.D. or D.O. shall complete these hours in
classes that qualify for the American Medical Association Physician's
Recognition Award Category 1 Credit. Physicians must also complete one of four
online Suicide Prevention modules provided by the Board for a total of 0.5 CME
Credit.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Utah Medical Practice Act Rule
State Medical Board
Utah Department of Commerce - Professional Licensing - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.