American College of Surgeons
MyCME
CALIFORNIA
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




Licensees are required to earn 50 Category 1 CME every two-year renewal
cycle. One-time requirement of 12 hours of CME on pain management and the
appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill within the first two
license renewal cycles (four years). The 12 CME credit hours may be divided
between the two areas in any way that is relevant to the physician's specialty
and practice setting. For physicians licensed on or after January 1, 2019, the
course shall also include the subject of the risks of addiction associated with
the use of Schedule II drugs. Alternatively, a surgeon may complete a one-time
continuing education course of 12 credit hours in the subjects of treatment and
management of opiate-dependent patients, including eight hours of training on
buprenorphine treatment, or other similar medicinal treatment for opioid
disorders. California law requires that general internists and family physicians
who have a patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or
older, are required to complete at least 20 percent of their mandatory CME in
the field of geriatric medicine.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
California Code – Renewal of License
California Code - Continuing Medical Education
State Medical Board
Medical Board of California - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.