American College of Surgeons
MyCME
VIRGINIA
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial based on DOB


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




In order to renew an active license biennially, a practitioner shall
attest to completion of at least 60 hours of continuing learning activities
within the two years immediately preceding renewal. A minimum of 30 of the 60
hours shall be in Type 1 activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor
or organization sanctioned by the profession. Licensees with prescriptive
authority must complete 2 hours of continuing education (CE) in pain management,
proper prescribing of controlled substances, and the diagnosis and management of
addiction every two-year renewal cycle. The Board has developed a package of
activities that will satisfy the requirement for 2 hours of Type 1 CE for
renewal in 2019-2020. Licensees who do not wish to use the Board's 2-hour
package for their opioid CE are responsible for finding Type 1 activities that
relate to pain management, proper prescribing of controlled substances, and the
diagnosis and management of addiction.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
Virginia Board of Medicine - Laws and Regulations
State Medical Board
Virginia Board of Medicine - Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.