American College of Surgeons
MyCME
CALIFORNIA (DO)
STATE-MANDATED CME CONTENT REQUIREMENTS
Generate a PDF file
CME Requirements At-A-Glance
Renewal Cycle:  
     Biennial


State-Mandated CME Requirements:

State-Mandated CME Content Detail




Osteopathic licensees must complete 100 hours of continuing medical
education ever two-year renewal cycle. One-time requirement of 12 hours of CME
on pain management and the appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill
within the first two license renewal cycles (four years). The 12 CME credit
hours may be divided between the two areas in any way that is relevant to the
physician's specialty and practice setting. For physicians licensed on or after
January 1, 2019, the course shall also include the subject of the risks of
addiction associated with the use of Schedule II drugs. Alternatively, a surgeon
may complete a one-time continuing education course of 12 credit hours in the
subjects of treatment and management of opiate-dependent patients, including
eight hours of training on buprenorphine treatment, or other similar medicinal
treatment for opioid disorders.
Accepted CME
Accepted CME
State Statutes and Codes
California Code - Continuing Medical Education
State Medical Board
Osteopathic Medical Board of California – Contact Information
Updated May 2022
State requirements are subject to change. Please contact mycme@facs.org or your state medical board if you have any questions or concerns about the content of this website.